Goa CM Parrikar wins in Panaji, counting underway in Bawana, Nandyal & Valpoi

Goa CM Parrikar wins in Panaji, counting underway in Bawana, Nandyal & Valpoi

Goa CM Parrikar wins in Panaji, counting underway in Bawana, Nandyal & Valpoi

In the Panaji contest, Chief Minister and BJP stalwart Manohar Parrikar is in the fray against Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi's confidante Girish Chodankar.

The BJP won both Goa bypolls, in the Panaji and Valpoi constituencies.

In Delhi's Bawana constituencies, after seventh round of counting Sandeep Kumar of Congress is leading over Aam Aadhmi Party's candidate Ram Chander by more than two thousand votes.

Mr Modi also congratulated Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ally Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and its candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy on the "big victory" in the Nandyal bypoll in Andhra Pradesh.

In the bypoll, Panaji saw a voter-turnout of 70 per cent with 15,538 people casting their votes.

Rane retained his Valpoi seat by defeating his nearest rival Roy Naik of the Congress by 10,066 votes. Anand Shirodkar of Goa Suraksha Manch was another candidate to watch out for in the election which was held on 23rd August, however, Anand did not give a tough fight to the other 2 candidates in the constituency. He secured 4803 votes more than his nearest rival. In Delhi, Bawana bypoll has become a matter of prestige for the ruling AAP, the BJP, and the Congress. In Delhi, the three major political parties - the ruling AAP, the BJP and the Congress - are vying for a win in Bawana which is being seen as a barometer of political influence in the city. "It's a repeat of the 2012 assembly elections", Parrikar said.

Manohar Parrikar was elected as Goa chief minister after the assembly elections held earlier this year. Chief minister Parrikar was the BJP candidate in Panaji and he romped home almost 5,000 votes ahead of his nearest rival. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress. BJP now has 14 MLAs in the state Assembly, while the Congress has 16 MLAs.

However, Prakash quit the party and resigned from the Delhi Assembly to join the BJP in March, ahead of the municipal corporation elections.

According to reports in the media, Congress' Surender Kumar has already conceded defeat to AAP.

Samsung heir Lee appeals last week's court ruling
Nandyal Effect: BJP To Sail With TDP!