Danbury's Morris Street School wins national Blue Ribbon award

Danbury's Morris Street School wins national Blue Ribbon award

Danbury's Morris Street School wins national Blue Ribbon award

Schools may be nominated as Exemplary High Performing-among the top schools in a state-or Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing-schools making the fastest progress in the their state in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. The other three schools -Stilwell Junior High School, West Des Moines, Tipton Elementary School and Whittier Elementary School in Indianola - were recognized as high performing schools.

"National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future", U.S. Education Secretary Betsy DeVos said in the announcement.

Paddock Road Elementary was one of four in Nebraska and 342 public and private schools across the country named National Blue Ribbon Schools this year.

Jefferson County Public Schools' Norton Elementary was selected as a Blue Ribbon School by the U. S. Department of Education.

The department names a new group of Blue Ribbon schools annually.

"We are so honored to win the Blue Ribbon Award a second time", Principal Wendy Godwin said in a statement. Our success as a state, economically and otherwise, relies on education, and our Blue Ribbon Schools serve as a model for how we can improve outcomes for all schools and all students. In the 2015-16 school year, 92 percent of all tested students passed state standardized exams, according to Texas Education Agency data. May Watts Elementary, White Eagle Elementary, Fry Elementary, Crone Middle School and Gregory Middle School, all of which are in Naperville, have been recognized in the past.

"We are beyond proud of the work that is happening inside our campuses".

Hoover Elementary School in North Mankato is receiving one of education's most prestigious awards.

On Nov. 6 and Nov. 7, there will be an official award ceremony in Washington D.C.to honor the winners.

The two other schools recognized this year are Colliers Primary School in Brooke County and Flemington Elementary School in Taylor County.

"We are bursting at the seams", says Becky Gardner, superintendent of Peoria Christian School.

Russell Westbrook Signs Five-Year, $205 Million Extension With Thunder
Rubio: US should kick out Cuban diplomats