Kohli to miss tri-series in Sri Lanka

India beat South Africa by 7 runs at Newlands to clinch T20I trophy

Rohit Sharma will lead the 15-member squad as captain

Chief selector MSK Prasad confirmed that Dhoni had requested a break, saying: "We've kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for the Nidahas Trophy".

India will miss the stability provided by Captain Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni in the middle order.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has chose to rest captain Virat Kohli, wicketkeeper MS Dhoni and pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya for the series.

Also, it is a good chance for Rohit Sharma because he will lead India's 15-member squad in the Nidahas Trophy T20I tri-series starting March 6 in Sri Lanka.

The much-experienced Dinesh Karthik and Delhi youngster Rishabh Pant are the wicketkeepers. The Nidahas Trophy will see India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh play each other twice in the tournament with the top 2 teams heading to play the final on March 18.

In the absence of pacers Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah, the responsibility will be on Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur - both were in the victorious team in South Africa.

Among the spinners, chinaman Kuldeep Yadav has been rested, but leggie Yuzvendra Chahal is in the squad. "The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximise rest and prevent injury".

Hooda's former Sunrisers Hyderabad teammates Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar have also been named in the squad.

Baroda's Deepak Hooda and Tamil Nadu's Vijay Shankar are in the squad as all-rounders. However, team India will be able to test its bench strength in this low-key T20I series. Dhawan will be Rohit's deputy. Many senior Indian players who are presently part of the South African tour are expected to be rested for the upcoming tri-series in the Lankan Islands.

Egyptian mediators in Gaza press Palestinians to reconcile
FDA Commissioner Prepares For Next Flu Season