Of the affected accounts, 83% had "only one person they had blocked temporarily unblocked". Those who were unblocked could not see content that a user shared with their friends, but they could see "things posted to a wider audience", Facebook said, such as photos shared with friends of friends.
Facebook keeps making mistakes that share your info - and this time it's with people you've explicitly blocked.
When asked by a journalist, Facebook on Twitter provided context of what caused the bug and how it worked.
If you block someone on Facebook, you probably want them to... you know, stay blocked.
This means that if you blocked someone after an abusive or a frustrating incident, they were able to see at least some of your posts. "For example, pictures shared with friends of friends", writes Facebook's chief privacy officer, Erin Egan.
When you block someone on Facebook they can not see things you post on your profile, start conversations with you on Messenger or add you as a friend.
Facebook has just disclosed that around 800,000 users were impacted by a bug that silently unblocked "some" people they had blocked. "This issue has now been fixed and everyone has been blocked again", the company promised.
Someone who was unblocked might have been able to contact people on Messenger who had blocked them. To be sure, the company's transparency and clear communication on this latest one is admirable, but you can see how it adds up to death by a thousand cuts if Facebook can't somehow turn things around when it comes to public perception.