Fortnite Season 6: Darkness Rises is here!

Fortnite Season 6: Darkness Rises is here!

Fortnite Season 6: Darkness Rises is here!

Fortnite Season 6 has gone live today, bringing with it a transformed Battle Royale map shrouded in all-pervading purple darkness, and a new Battle Pass with 100 levels and over 100 rewards to unlock.

Season 6 also adds adorable pet companions that watch your back when you drop in and some updated map areas in line with the spooky new theme. Uncover what's in the new Battle Pass, explore an updated island with Pets, and become one with the shadows with a new consumable.

And here's the first official image of the Haunted Castle, just in time for Halloween.

You'll also notice Corrupted Areas scattered around the map.

It will usher in the next phase of development for the game, meaning new features and designs for the map.

As per Season 5, we're going to see Weekly Challenges this week split into Free and Battle Pass segments.

During this time you won't be able to use weapons and leave a shadow trail when moving, but you can move slightly faster and get fall immunity while it is in effect. I'm traveling now and have yet to try these out myself, but apparently, once you consume a Shadow Stone you can pass through objects, so this opens up a whole new meaning of flanking your enemy.

In addition to Shadow Stones, the Vaulted Impulse Grenade, Suppressed Submachine Gun, Light Machine Gun, Bouncer, and Remote Explosives have all been added back into the vault.

Everyone will need to download update 6.0 before they can start playing again, which is expected to be large. They don't go much, but they will react to different situations and they're incredibly cute. Sony has rolled out a beta to enable cross-platform play on the PlayStation 4 for Fortnite.

There are three pets in all being introduced in season 6, and they're all exclusive to the Battle Pass.

Mourinho wants the Manchester United board to back him over Pogba feud
Trump voices frustration over Senate delays for Kavanaugh