Marco Rubio, Rick Scott, Vern Buchanan seek year-round daylight saving again


The time change trades lighter mornings for later

If this bill is approved, all 50 states would be required to keep the time the same 365 days a year. Domestically, 48 states recognize it, but Hawaii, most of Arizona, and U.S. Territories like Puerto Rico and Guam do not.

"This artificial changing of the time for no real particular ongoing reason, maybe we've seen the time for it to end", Menendez said.

Without daylight saving time, the would rise before 6 Fort Worth for more than four months of the year, from April 16 until August 25.

Increased sunlight in the evening also leads to more physical activity among children, studies have said.

The bill's filing comes as Americans plan to spring forward one hour Sunday morning when the time change begins at 2 a.m.

- Parts of Canada: There are a handful of small exceptions, and one large one.

Across the country, there is no annual time change in Saskatchewan, Coral Harbour in Nunavut, Blanc-Sablon in Quebec nor Atikokan in Ontario.

                     facebook                       Toggle navigation
Pixabay facebook Toggle navigation

- Most of the Caribbean: Cuba, the Bahamas and Bermuda are generally exceptions, in that they do observe DST.

- The entire southern hemisphere: A few countries, mostly in South America, do observe daylight saving time. The time of 2 a.m. was originally chosen since it was thought it would be the least disruptive to most people's lives. But remember, their seasons are the opposite of ours.

On Wednesday, March 6, 2019, U.S. Senators Marco Rubio, Rick Scott and U.S. Representative Vern Buchanan re-introduced the Sunshine Protection Act to make Daylight Saving Time permanent year-round.

The policy change would require a two-thirds approval, then passage in Congress and a presidential signature. Almost 60 percent of voters agreed that they don't want to keep changing the clocks twice a year, joining Hawaii and Arizona as states that do not recognize the time change.

- Others: Montana and New Hampshire have passed bills that later failed in the other chamber of their state legislature.

Spurred by the Florida Legislature's passage past year of a daylight saving time act, the three Republicans announced Wednesday they have filed "Sunlight Protection Act" bills that would enable that on the federal level, as needed.

States that came around: In the past, Alaska, Michigan and In did not observe the time change.

Kate Beckinsale's ex urges Pete Davidson to 'run'
Guaido asks state workers for support in push to oust Maduro