Zach Johnson Takes Biggest Mulligan Of All-Time At The Masters

Zach Johnson hits ball on practice swing but it's not a penalty	
				Rob Schumacher  USA TODAY Network

Zach Johnson hits ball on practice swing but it's not a penalty Rob Schumacher USA TODAY Network

The 2007 Masters champion was in the middle of the pack as he wound his way through the back nine, after scoring a 74 in the opening round.

Former champion Zach Johnson has been involved in a weird incident during the second round of the Masters, accidentally hitting his ball while taking a practice swing.

The extraordinary incident became even more weird once the ball had richocheted off the tee marker and come to rest only a couple of metres away, still on the teeing ground. So Johnson re-teed and found the fairway. A less experienced golfer may have been rattled after something like that happened, but Johnson seemed unfazed.

The rule in question is Rule 6.2b 5.

"Okay, there's a first for everything there boys", Johnson said, relieved.

However, he got far too close to the ball itself, and brushed it off the tee with his driver. I thought I had done it all but now I know I've done it all.

Zach Johnson, a two-time major victor who won the green jacket in 2007, just shanked a shot at the par-5 13th.

Johnson then awkwardly stepped up to pick up his ball, looked around at his playing partners to see their reaction, and then took another whack at it.

The 43-year old was not assessed a penalty and the shot did not count as a stroke as Johnson had no intention to hit the ball.

Both players ruled the contact incidental and Johnson, who finished at 3-over, would not be given any penalty and he would go on to birdie the hole.

UK police say man held in hospital after embassy car-ramming
Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp down for almost two hours